My Voice, My Stand

The State Is A Black Box

Posted in Uncategorized by warycriticaleye on 28/05/2007

When I was in my college, I have encountered a teacher who encouraged me to refocus my studies from the global affairs to the local one. She recommended that I focus on the people of the various regions of the world rather than the regional power balance among governments. I didn’t like the suggestion because the topic she suggested to me was the job of historians. Theorists on International Relations do not often examine people.

Like most of the rest, I view the state as a black box. The subjects of my studies were states and their governments while the objects of state actions are populations. But I eventually reached to the point that featured the inadequacy of such analyses. Now the ironic thing here is that I had first sought to study International Relations in order to help people overcome conflict, but in my focus on the politics of conflict, I had lost sight of the people.

Leave a Reply

